Over the July 4th Holiday in Louisiana, many people turn to the waterways for their outdoor celebration, and these celebrations often contain alcohol. According to the Louisiana State Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, receiving “a DWI on the water carries the same penalties and fines as on the road,” including jail time, fines and loss of boat operating privileges.
From the DWLF:
“In Louisiana, DWI can be issued to anyone operating a moving vessel or vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or higher. First offense DWI carries a $300 to $1,000 fine and up to six months in jail. Second offense DWI brings a $750 to $1,000 fine and between 30 days and six months in jail. Third offense DWI carries a $5,000 fine and between one and five years in jail.”
This holiday, make sure that you stay safe and smart on the water. Though these rules are being strictly enforced by LDWF this season, people are still prone to drink and drive. If you or someone you know suffers an injury due to someone else’s negligence on the water, you have a right to compensation. Contact our experienced personal injury attorneys to learn more.
We hope everyone has a safe and happy Independence Day.
Source: Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, 2013.